Surgery Day
top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

Surgery Day

Updated: Jul 6


Hi everyone,


Today was Dino's surgery day. He had his rear right leg amputated above the knee. Just after noon the surgeon called to say everything went very routinely, and this afternoon the oncology team emailed to tell me Dino is in good spirits and is doing well. We are so very relieved. We will pick up Dino from the hospital tomorrow morning.


Yesterday evening we enjoyed some nice weather and tried to relax before the big day. Dino spent some time laying in the grass and watching cars go by. Ben had set up his tent to clean it out after the last camping trip, and Dino was very excited about this. Dino loves camping, and he was pushing on the sides of the tent with his nose requesting entry. Of course we unzipped the tent and spent some time lounging in there with him.


A photo of Dino the dog laying in the grass. He is fully stretched out and relaxed.
Enjoying the cool grass on a beautiful, quiet evening before surgery. Being on a leash in our yard is still strange for Dino, but it is for his own safety.

A photo of Dino the dog standing in a grey and white tent.
Dino is a big fan of camping and loves spending time in the tent. Checking the tent out the night before surgery, excited for our future camping trips.


We had another early morning today. We were up at 4:45 am and in the car by 5 am. Dino knew something was up, as it was another morning without breakfast (fasting required pre-surgery), but he was a good sport and hopped right in the car when it was time to go. The drive was good, but I felt pretty bad that I couldn't share my breakfast with Dino. We were all pretty tired -- Dino was up all night trying to get comfortable. I slept downstairs in our living room with him, and ended up giving him a pain killer just before 4 am to help him get settled. Ben spent the night upstairs to make sure he was well-rested enough to drive us to Toronto safely.


A photo of Dino the dog sticking his head out of the car window. There is green grass and a blue sky in the background.
Dino loves car rides, and always has his head out the window. This was on our way to surgery this morning.

When we arrived at the hospital Dino knew we were there for a purpose; he practically dragged Ben to the doors as if to say "let's get this over with." Once we got checked in, Dino befriended another hound patient while we waited for the oncology team. Vet technician Jade checked us in and answered all of our questions and concerns. It was a hard goodbye, but we know we'll see our big fella tomorrow morning. Dino followed Jade right into the backroom, and we knew he was in good hands. We had barely merged onto the highway when we got our first update about Dino, saying how well he handled the IV insertion.


A screenshot of a text message from the oncology team. They sent a photo of Dino and a message saying that "Dino was such a brave professional boy for his IV catheter (smiling emoji) Jade RVT
A welcome text about our Very Good Boy (VGB) shortly after dropoff.

After an uneventful, but anxious drive home I didn't really know what to do with myself. Ben had a quick nap before going to work, and I spent the entire day cleaning the floors and doing laundry, preparing for Dino to come home tomorrow. Before Ben left, the surgeon called me at about noon to report that Dino was done with surgery and everything went very routinely. This was a huge relief for us, and I was glad I could share that news with Ben before he went to work.


I continued to putter around cleaning until I got another email from oncology. This time they attached a few photos. I was very shocked to see him already standing in the grass outside. Seeing the stump where his leg was removed was pretty surreal. I had a big cry when I first saw it, but the more I look at the photos the more I am amazed at how well he looks, albeit tired (and maybe a little high - I am sure they gave him the good stuff).


A photo of Dino after his surgery. It is a front-view of his face and front legs. One leg is bandaged where the IV is attached, and the rear leg and amputation site are not visible.
Dino, post-surgery enjoying a break outside.

The next images show his amputation site, but it is bandaged and clean. I have put a censored version here for the squeamish, but if you want to see what it looks like just click on the image to open the original in a new tab (images have the bandage - it really isn't that bad, just a little strange). I had asked this morning if they'd shave his whole back end, and they said yes, but they didn't shave as much as I expected. Bald Butt Boy (the Ol' Triple-B).




I emailed a thank you to the oncology team for taking such good care of our boy, and they sent a very nice email back:


A screenshot of an email from "Oncology" that says "He is the strongest toughest guy! Everyone is so impressed with how well he has already adapted! He's like "what amputation??". He's doing really, really great, and he misses you guys and he can't wait to see you tomorrow." The email is signed off with "The Oncology Department"


Closer to the end of the day I got another email with the instructions for Dino's care when we bring him home tomorrow, as well as another picture of him in his "compartment" at the hospital. I know that look in his eyes - someone is holding a treat.


A photo of Dino the dog. He is in a metal "compartment" laying on a blanket. He has a yellow bandage on his front right pay that has an octopus pattern on it. He is looking happily at something out of frame.
Dino in his "compartment" at the hospital. I love his octopus bandage on his IV site.

I am so relieved that Dino's surgery went well, and so happy to hear he is already up and moving. We'll need to take it very slow, and I already know how bored he is going to be in the coming weeks as he recovers. But we'll get through it. I wonder if he'll be able to wiggle his little stub... probably, since he still has a hip joint and the top of his femur.


I can't believe it has only been seven days since our local vet called me with the news of Dino's cancer. I was so sure we were going to do doggy-ACL surgery and the news that it was actually bone cancer hit me like a truck. But the following choices we had to make about amputation hit like a train. It is absolutely surreal, and a lot of tears have been shed, but we know we have made the right decision.


We're on the road to recovery now! The hard choices are done. Now we focus on making Dino comfortable and safe, while helping him heal and get back to being a dog and living his best life. I plan to continue updating on Dino's progress here. I don't really know what to expect in terms of chemotherapy, but I have a lot of trust in the very smart, capable, and compassionate oncology team we're working with. I know they will do their best for Dino. We return to the hospital in two weeks to have the stitches removed. I don't know if this will be the same day he starts chemo, but we'll be sure to ask the doctor tomorrow when we pick him up.


Thank you to everyone who has sent well-wishes to Dino and to us. Your kind words and encouragement has made this whole process easier. We're also going to set up a GoFundMe to help with veterinary expenses, so please stand by for that. I'll be sure to post it here when it is functional.


1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

©2024 Dr. Megan E. Tannock
Last updated July 2024

  • LinkedIn
  • GitHub
  • Twitter
  • bluesky_edited_edited
  • mastodon_logo_icon_145082
bottom of page